OASIS Seats New Board of Directors

Consortium also forms technical advisory board

Boston, MA  August 23, 2002  OASIS, the XML interoperability consortium, this week announced the election of four members to its Board of Directors: Edward Cobb of BEA Systems, Colin Evans of Intel, Patrick Gannon of OASIS and Laura Walker of the Federal Reserve System. The new members were selected by the OASIS membership to provide business leadership to advance OASIS as a major standards-setting body for Web services, e-business security and other applications.

The consortium also announced the formation of the OASIS Technical Advisory Board, a group of appointed and elected industry experts who provide guidance on issues related to strategy, process, interoperability and scope of OASIS technical work.

"OASIS is providing a growing, flexible, destination for industry technology cooperation," said Colin Evans, director of distributed systems in Intel research and development and chairman of the OASIS board of directors. "I am delighted to see such a strong set of industry experts on both the Board of Directors and the Technical Advisory Board who can continue to extend OASIS leadership."

Cobb, Evans, Gannon and Walker join current OASIS Board members, Jim Hughes of Hewlett-Packard, Christopher Kurt of Microsoft, Simon Nicholson of Sun Microsystems, and Michael Weiner of IBM. Each director serves two-year terms.

On behalf of the OASIS membership, Patrick Gannon, president and CEO of OASIS, expressed thanks to Una Kearns of Documentum and Norbert Mikula of Intel for their service on the OASIS Board of Directors as their terms conclude.

As for the new OASIS Technical Advisory Board, it was formed to identify opportunities and areas for standardization within OASIS that will be beneficial for the entire community. Members include Derek Coleman of HP, Angel Diaz of IBM, Chet Ensign of Lexis/Nexis, Eduardo Gutentag of Sun Microsystems, Jackson He of Intel, Sanjay Patil of IONA, Krishna Sankar of Cisco, and Heinz Ulrich Roggenkemper of SAP. Christopher Kurt of Microsoft and Karl Best of OASIS will also serve, representing the OASIS Board of Directors and staff, respectively.

"OASIS remains committed to its membership-driven Technical Committee process, and our group will act as its steward," said Eduardo Gutentag of Sun Microsystems, who serves as chair of the OASIS Technical Advisory Board. "We will advise the Board of Directors on the OASIS technical agenda and on interoperability and alignment issues, and encourage the formation of joint committees to address those issues. We will seek convergence and the elimination of barriers to interoperablity and help coordinate OASIS work with that of other standards-setting bodies."

Companies in this article