ISM Selects 2014 R. Gene Richter Scholarship Recipients

Tempe, Ariz.May 7, 2014Institute for Supply Management® (ISM®) selected the 2014 recipients of the R. Gene Richter Scholarship, an award annually presented to the top supply chain management students from across the United States. Recipients were determined based upon a submitted essay, cumulative grade point average, extracurricular involvement and overall achievements as a pre-professional.

The 2014 R. Gene Richter Scholars include Katherine Beach of the University of South Carolina, Emily Clark of Michigan State University (MSU), Sophia DeFlorio of Grand Valley State University, Zawadi Dismuke of Howard University, Kyla Hall of Western Washington University, Andrew Johnson of MSU, Katie Post of Bowling Green State University (BGSU), Chase Skinner of MSU and Alexandria Shock of BGSU.

The award recipients are to be honored at ISM2014 in Las Vegas from May 5 through 7. Now in its 11th year, the R. Gene Richter Scholarship carries a monetary award of up to US$5,000 in tuition assistance. Recipients are also given access to an executive mentor and a junior mentor, a former Richter scholar.

The R. Gene Richter Scholarship Program was established and named in memory of R. Gene Richter, who was a galvanizing force in the field of procurement. Richter is admired for elevating the profession to world-class stature. He led the supply organizations at The Black & Decker Corporation, Hewlett-Packard and International Business Machines (IBM).